Stephen Flaherty is the composer of the Broadway musicals Ragtime (Tony Award, Drama Desk, OCC Awards, two Grammy nominations), Once on This Island (Tony Award Best Revival, Tony nomination for Score, Grammy nomination, Olivier Award, Best Musical), Anastasia (Drama Desk nomination), Seussical (Grammy, Drama Desk nominations), and Rocky. Additional Broadway includes Chita Rivera: The Dancer’s Life and Neil Simon's Proposals (incidental music). Four musicals at Lincoln Center Theatre: The Glorious Ones (Drama Desk, OCC nominations), Dessa Rose (Drama Desk, OCC nominations), A Man of No Importance (OCC Award Best Musical, Drama Desk nomination) and My Favorite Year. Other theater includes In Your Arms (Old Globe), Little Dancer (Kennedy Center), Lucky Stiff (Playwrights Horizons), Loving Repeating (Chicago’s Jefferson Award, Best New Musical) and the upcoming Marie. Film includes Anastasia (two Academy Award and two Golden Globe nominations), After The Storm and Lucky Stiff. Mr. Flaherty's concert music has premiered at the Hollywood Bowl, Boston's Symphony Hall, Carnegie Hall and the Guggenheim. In 2014, he and longtime collaborator Lynn Ahrens received the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement, and in 2015 they were inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame. Council, Dramatists Guild of America; co- founder, Dramatists Guild Fellows Program.


Lynn Ahrens won Tony, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle Awards and received two Grammy nominations for the score of Broadway’s Ragtime. For Twentieth Century Fox’s animated feature film Anastasia, she was nominated for two Academy Awards and two Golden Globes. In 2014, she and longtime collaborator Stephen Flaherty received the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement, and in 2015 they were inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame. She is currently represented on Broadway by the long-running hit Anastasia. The 2018 revival of Once On This Island, for which she wrote both book and lyrics, won the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical and received a 2019 Grammy nomination. Other Broadway and off-Broadway credits include Seussical (Grammy nomination, one of the most performed shows in America); My Favorite Year; Chita Rivera-The Dancer's Life; Rocky; Lincoln Center Theater’s Dessa Rose, The Glorious Ones (both Drama Desk-nominated) and A Man of No Importance (Outer Critics Circle Award, Best Musical); Lucky Stiff; Marie (Kennedy Center and Seattle Fifth Avenue); and Madison Square Garden’s A Christmas Carol, with composer Alan Menken. Film and television credits include A Christmas Carol (teleplay, NBC- TV); Camp (IFC films); Lucky Stiff;Schoolhouse Rock (ABC-TV). Emmy Award and four Emmy nominations, Lilly Award for Lyrics. 2019 nomination to the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame. Council, Dramatists Guild of America; co-founder, Dramatists Guild Fellows Program.


Playwright Terrence McNally was born in 1939 and grew up in Corpus Christi, Texas, listening to radio broadcasts of The Green Hornet and the Metropolitan Opera. McNally's love of the opera and especially of the famous diva Maria Callas would surface in his work, most notably in his Tony award-winning Master Class (1996). His love of music also inspired him to collaborate on several musicals, including The Rink (1984), Kiss of the Spider Woman (1993), and Ragtime (1996). From the macabre to the farcical, the range of McNally's satire and drama borrows from his personal life and his personal understanding of the world. McNally's plays about homophobia, love, fear, and AIDS, among other things, illuminate the dominant theme of how people connect and fail to connect. McNally has no fear of offending as he explores new territories with his pen. Despite the controversy surrounding some of his plays, Terrence McNally is one of the most beloved and prolific modern-day playwrights. Besides the afore-mentioned, some of his other notable credits include: The Ritz (1975), Frankie and Johnny at the Claire de Lune (1987), The Lisbon Traviata (1989), Andre's Mother (1990), Lips Together, Teeth Apart (1991), and Love! Valour! Compassion! (1994). In addition to four Tony Awards, McNally has received two Guggenheim Fellowships, a Rockefeller Grant, the Lucille Lortel Award, the Hull-Warriner Award, and a citation from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

E.L. DOCTOROW | Original Novel

Award-winning author E.L. Doctorow explored the American experience in his best-selling novels, often incorporating historical settings and characters based on historical figures. Doctorow’s novel, The Book of Daniel (1971), was inspired by the Julius and Ethel Rosenberg spy case, and one of his best-known works Ragtime (1975), which includes Harry Houdini, Emma Goldman and Theodore Dreiser as characters, was made into both a film (1981) and a musical (1998). Other novels include Billy Bathgate (1989) about a teenager pulled under the wing of mobster Dutch Shultz, and The March (2005), which centers on General William Tecumseh Sherman’s march through the south at the end of the Civil War. E.L. Doctorow died on July 21, 2015 in New York City. He was 84 years old.